Mr LEE Hsien Loong

Mr LEE Hsien Loong

Prime Minister

Mr LEE Hsien Loong

Lee Hsien Loong has been Singapore's Prime Minister since 2004.

Mr Lee is the Secretary-General of the People's Action Party (PAP). He led PAP to three consecutive Singapore General Elections victories in 2006, 2011 and 2015. He was first elected Member of Parliament (MP) in 1984, and has been re-elected seven times, most recently as an MP for the Ang Mo Kio Group Representation Constituency.

Mr Lee also chairs GIC, Singapore's sovereign wealth fund, and the Research, Innovation and Enterprise Council, an international panel that provides stategic direction for Singapore's Research and Development efforts.

Before becoming Prime Minister, Mr Lee had held various Ministerial appointments, including being Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Finance, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, Minister for Trade and Industry and Second Minister for Defence. He was concurrently the Chairman of the Monetary Authority Singapore from 1998 until 2004.

Before joining politics, Mr Lee had served in the Singapore Armed Forces, retiring as a Brigadier-General.

Mr Lee graduated with a B.A. in Mathematics and a Diploma in Computer Science from the University of Cambridge. He was later a Mason Fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School, receiving a Master in Public Administration.

Mr Lee was born on 10 February 1952. He married Dr Wong Ming Yang in 1978, and was widowed in 1982.  He remarried Ho Ching in 1985.  They have one daughter and three sons.

Mr Lee enjoys reading, photography, walking, listening to classical music and computer programming.

May 2016

Copyright @ The Government of Singapore. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in any retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, whether electronic or mechanical including photocopying and recording, without the permission of the Prime Minister's Office (PMO). All enquiries seeking any such permission should be addressed to the Permanent Secretary of the PMO.


View Other Profiles

  • Mr TEO Chee Hean
  • Mr KHAW Boon Wan
    Mr KHAW Boon Wan
  • Mr LIM Hng Kiang
    Mr LIM Hng Kiang
  • Mr LIM Swee Say
    Mr LIM Swee Say
  • Dr YAACOB Ibrahim
  • Dr NG Eng Hen
  • Mr K Shanmugam
    Mr K Shanmugam
  • Mr GAN Kim Yong
    Mr GAN Kim Yong
  • Mr S Iswaran
    Mr S Iswaran
  • Mr HENG Swee Keat
  • Ms Grace FU Hai Yien
    Ms Grace FU Hai Yien
  • Mr CHAN Chun Sing
    Mr CHAN Chun Sing
  • Mr TAN Chuan-Jin
    Mr TAN Chuan-Jin
  • Mr Lawrence WONG
    Mr Lawrence WONG
  • Mr MASAGOS Zulkifli
    Mr MASAGOS Zulkifli
  • Mr NG Chee Meng
  • Mr ONG Ye Kung