Nomination of the Speaker and the Leader of the House

Prime Minister's Office | 20 August 2020

The Prime Minister's nomination of the Speaker and Leader of the House when Parliament convenes in August 2020.


The Prime Minister intends to nominate Mr Tan Chuan-Jin to be the Speaker of the Parliament when Parliament convenes in August.

He has appointed Ms Indranee Rajah, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office, Second Minister for Finance and Second Minister for National Development as the Leader of the House. Mr Zaqy Mohamad, Senior Minister of State for Manpower and Defence will be the Deputy Leader.

* * * * *

20 AUGUST 2020