Changes at the Public Service Commission (January 2020)

Prime Minister's Office | 29 January 2020

The President has appointed Ms Chua Sock Koong as Deputy Chairman of the Public Service Commission (PSC).


The President has appointed Ms Chua Sock Koong (蔡淑君) as Deputy Chairman of the Public Service Commission (PSC). She was sworn‐in on 29 January 2020 and will serve alongside Deputy Chairman, Mr Kwa Chong Seng (柯宗盛), 73.

Ms Chua, 62, will be the PSC’s first female Deputy Chairman. As the Group Chief Executive Officer of Singtel since April 2007, Ms Chua directs the Singapore‐ based multinational’s global strategy and oversees its consumer, enterprise and digital businesses. She sits on the boards of Singtel, Bharti Airtel Limited, Bharti Telecom Limited, the Defence Science and Technology Agency (DSTA), Cap Vista Pte Ltd, and key subsidiaries of the Singtel Group. She is also a member of the Research, Innovation and Enterprise Council as well as the Indonesia‐Singapore Business Council, and is an alternate member of the Council of Presidential Advisers.

The PSC will also be seeing two other changes. Mr Richard R Magnus, 75, has retired on 28 January 2020 after serving 11 years as a member of the PSC. Mr Tan Yam Pin (陈炎斌), 79, will be retiring on 31 January 2020 after serving 30 years on the PSC, including almost 10 years as Deputy Chairman.



Public Service Commission


Mr Lee Tzu Yang


1. Mr Kwa Chong Seng (Deputy Chairman)

Chairman, Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd

2. Ms Chua Sock Koong (Deputy Chairman sworn‐in on 29 Jan 2020)

Group CEO, Singtel

3. Mr Michael Lim

Chairman, Nomura Singapore Ltd

4. Mr Po’ad Bin Shaik Abu Bakar Mattar

Pro‐Chancellor, National University of Singapore

5. Mr Edward D’Silva

Senior Advisor, SAA Architects Pte Ltd

6. Prof Lily Kong

President, Singapore Management University

7. Mr Philip Antony Jeyaretnam

Global Vice‐Chair and ASEAN CEO, Dentons

8. Mr Alan Chan

Chairman, Land Transport Authority

9. Prof Tan Ser Kiat

Emeritus Consultant, Singapore General Hospital

10. Dr Sudha d/o A G Nair

Executive Director, PAVE